Posted by: ashleenelson | December 2, 2010

Insulin, Insulin, Insulin!

When you have diabetes… insulin is an issue! You want life to be as normal as possible, so you want to be able to take care of your insulin needs as easily and conveniently as possible! Good thing there are people working very hard to develop new ways to make this better!

Something cool I found was that researchers are working on an implantable insulin pump. This would be of great use to those with Type I diabetes. It would be able to measure blood sugar levels and deliver the exact amount of insulin needed, basically doing what your body would do if it was working correctly. It is still years away from being in use, but when it happens, it will be great i’m sure!

http://www.lifeclinic.com/focus/diabetes/advances.asp

http://biology.about.com/library/weekly/aa061099.htm


Responses

  1. The implantable insulin pump would be a wonderful thing for diabetics. I know it isn’t easy to always have to worry about the insulin levels and this would make it a lot easier. I love the technology of this day and age.

  2. I had no idea this was happening, that would be a great medical advancement. I always am amazed at the great consequences that can occur in our bodies when just on little hormone like insulin is off.

  3. Wow! An implantable insulin pump??!?! That sounds amazing!

  4. My cousin has Type 1 diabetes. I’m sure he’d love this!

  5. Wow great post, thanks for the info!


Leave a comment

Categories